Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Not for the weak stomached . . .





Pics as promised . . .
Had to throw in a non-violent, cute as pie pic too!  Enjoy!  The top pic is Aidan "playing rock band".  He has no idea that his guitar is not even turned on!

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

One more thing to be thankful for . . .

I can't believe that I forgot to mention how thankful I am to have a cleaning lady/maid (not sure the PC term) that comes every other Monday!  She is a Godsend.  Especially yesterday.  After a week or so of a revolving door of family and hunters-Sherry had her work cut out for her.  But once again- I go to work and come home and the house looks brand spanking new.  I love it!  Nothing like a neat, orderly clean house!!!!!

Thanks to Ryan's kill, we now have more than enough ground meat for the year!  Yea!!!  I hate having to buy meat at the grocery.

Aidan had his swimming lessons yesterday after being off for a week.  Um yeah- he half-drowned and half-swam.  We wanted to request an extra 30 minutes for him b/c he needed it but it doesn't work that way . . . Hopefully by the summer he will be able to swim better so that I can take the boys to the club to swim.

I can really feel Andrew moving around now.  Ryan was even able to feel him this morning!!  So absolutely amazing.  This is what I have been waiting for for the last 19 weeks.  I ate white chocolate raspberry cheesecake from Cheesecake bistro yesterday and I actually felt Andrew doing somersaults!  Next appt isn't until Dec. 30th.  that's the longest time I will have gone without seeing a doctor but I feel okay with that now, especially since I can feel him moving now.

Going to buy our tree today and start the Christmas decorations!  Aidan is so excited as am I!  I still have a lot of Christmas presents to buy though- although I know what I am getting most people-which is half the battle.

Till next time . . .

Sunday, November 30, 2008

15 point buck???

Well- the family has finally all gone.  Most of the ham and turkey gumbo is gone too.  But oh the memories . . . What a great week!  And if you haven't heard (you must be living under a rock somewhere)- Ryan killed a 220 pound, 15 point buck this a.m.  It was his last hunt with my nephew Brady before everyone was returning to G-town.  We were hoping for Brady to get one but never expected anyone to kill one like this.  When Ryan called @ 7:45 am, he woke me and Aidan up asking me to bring his camera to the farm b/c he had killed a 14 pt buck.  I said, "Whatever, they don't even make those."  He said, " No, I am not kidding."  So I of course rounded up Aidan, Grammy and Pops and we headed north.  Sure enough- they do make 'em.  Actually they make 15 point ones b/c that's what he actually was- amazing.  I don't care much about hunting but I knew this was a big deal.  I am happy for my husband and will post his bragging pics soon.

Last night was a fun night- Me, Brady, Ryan and Grammy played Spades while Pops read every book in Aidan's book rack to him.   No joke.  I can't believe he did that.  Pops scored some major Aidan points last night!!  

My friend got to bring 2 of her triplets home today from the hospital!  What a blessing!  We are all so excited for the real fun to begin!  

So to sum up my Thanksgiving- I am thankful for:

-cooking gumbo with my Dad
-cooking and hanging with my sister
-Baby Colt's smiles
-watching Australia with my parents
-watching Aidan strengthen his bond with all of my family
-spending time with Ryan's family
-being able to share in Ryan's awesome kill
-my husband
-my sweet friends
-spending time with my lil bro and T
-this little miracle growing inside of me
-God's unconditional love

Pics to come soon!

Thursday, November 27, 2008

Turkey Day!

We had Thanksgiving lunch at our house today!  It was a lot of work but so nice to spend meaningful time with family.  Family from Texas, family from Gonzales and even family from here in Shreveport.  These times are so special to me and I am so thankful that I have family who love me enough to actually want to spend time with us!

I got to hold Baby Colt today who is 5 months- I actually had to steal him (mainly from Mrs. Betsy).  He is such a sweet sweet baby and it made me want Andrew to be here asap.  Andrew is the name we have chosen for Baby K just in case you are reading this and wondering who the hell is Andrew?  Baby K will be Andrew Christopher Kirby and we just can't wait to meet him!

Tomorrow my dad will teach me how to cook his turkey and sausage gumbo for the LSU vs. Arkansas game.  I am mainly looking forward to it for the opportunity to make great memories with my daddy.  I love him so much!  Okay- more to come soon, hopefully . . .

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

No longer an alien!

I had my first regular OB appt. today!  It was so long b/c she had to do all of the first visit tests, etc . . . It took her a while to get that sweet little heartbeat on the doppler b/c Baby K is a squirmer!  I remember Aidan being the same way!  Anyway, the ultrasound tech asked if she could do an u/s on me to practice measuring the nuchal folds and since I was disappointed that I actually wasn't going to get one today- I said yes before she could finish asking!  Once I got in there, I got a little nervous b/c I believe an enlarged nuchal fold can be an indicator of Down's Syndrome or other chromosomal abnormalities.  But of course my little squirmer wasn't still enough for her to measure and he/she is also positioned more vertical than horizontal so wasn't really cooperating.  I hope it's not a sign of things to come!  But the good news is that I got to see the little one and it actually resembles a baby and not an alien!  So yea!!  4 more weeks till we find out the sex!!!!

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Dentist and Stop, Drop and Roll . . .

Aidan had his first dentist appt today and was such a good patient!  He did everything they asked and was quiet and still!  Ha- 2 things that don't happen often with Aidan unless he's asleep.  Unfortunately he has posterior cross-bites and has an orthodontist in his future but at least it's not the near future.  We will cross that bridge when we get to it!

I took Aidan to the library today for the first time (isn't that bad?).  Anyway- we were there for story time and then he got to check out books!  He is so excited about his new books.  I keep telling him that we are borrowing them and will have to bring them back and get some new ones.  We will see how he does with that when the actual time comes to bring them back.

Before we went to get his haircut, I took Aidan for his first smoothie at Smoothie King.  While we were waiting, he suddenly starts rolling on the ground.  And of course, I was like, "Get up!  What are you doing?  He says, "I am stop, drop and roll."  I told him, "Son, you are not on fire.  You only do that when you are on fire.  No rolling around on the floor!"  The smoothie guy thought it was hilarious- but me, not so much.  Hey- at least we know he is listening to what they are teaching him at school??

I will post his pic of getting his teeth cleaned today.  What a big boy!

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Baby K, alien???

First off- went to the doctor today and Baby K is doing great!  So once again-had an ultrasound.  The baby had a good heartbeat and has really grown.  The doc says that it continues to be a great pregnancy, my placenta is to the left and there is plenty of amniotic fluid.  While he is saying all of this, I just can't help but think and subsequently say (b/c I have no filter), " It looks like an alien."  The doc proceeds to say, "Well, the baby goes through lots of stages, but I promise in April- it will look like a newborn baby."  I suppose he's right but it was still  a little disconcerting to see an alien in my uterus.  I have to remember that I didn't get to see Aidan that much b/c I wasn't so high risk, so I guess we missed the alien stage and Aidan certainly looked like a beautiful cone-shaped headed, newborn baby!  Can't wait to meet this little guy or gal!!

Well today is Day Two of Aidan at his new school.  I think Day One went well.  He was happy when I picked him up, proud of his schoolwork and excited about his lunch.  He was playing with pretend make-up when I picked him up.  Good thing Ryan didn't pick him up= not sure how that would have gone over.  Hopefully it's not a sign of things to come?  
Day Two- Aidan seemed okay with going to school but he did ask me if I was going to stay with him at school.  So I guess he's still a little unsure, which is to be expected.  But they were having a real fire engine today at school and I know that will just be the highlight of his little 3 yr old week.

That's  about all for now.  Trying to work as much as I can the next month or two b/c they hired two new full-time OT's at work and I am sure they won't need me as much soon. . .The cotton harvest is FINALLY over- so I get my husband back- although thanks to Jason Crum, the hunting/gun obsession may continue to occupy my husband's time and money . . .

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Light at the end of the tunnel?





Well- I sure had high hopes of blogging daily until mother nature kicked in. . .I have had horrible "morning" sickness (yeah right- more like all damn day) for the last 6 weeks or so but things are finally letting up!  I have actually felt semi-normal since Friday-ish.  Ryan and I actually went to dinner @ Bistro Byronz ( new in shreveport).  I of course being the food connossieur that I am, always know the scoop on the food scene in town- i.e. what has closed: Kon-Tiki (who cares?) and OTB (boo-who) and what has opened: Trejo's in the old Kon-Tiki (yes!) and Bistro Byronz in the old Cook's.  So anyway- it was fun to check out a new place except for the fact that I was unable to test the wine list.  And of the other 4 tables in our area- we knew at least one person @ 3 of them- so that was fun!  Ryan's parents kept Aidan for us and they laughed at us when we were only gone for an hour and a half.  But what else were we to do?  The nausea might be lessening but it's still there and I am still so pooped all the time- so I guess we are pretty lame relieving the babysitters so early.  Too bad I don't care.  Good time with the hubby and a good night's sleep.  Bliss!
If you are reading this- you have already gotten my update on Baby K so I won't continue except to say that the doctor said that "this is a great, healthy pregnancy so far." Snaps . . . But one funny story from the mouth of Aidan:  This morning we were eating breakfast and 
Aidan says, "mommy- why no TV day?"  I say, "B/c you have school and mommy has to go to the doctor so that he can check on her baby to make sure everything is growing like it's supposed to."  Aidan replies,"I love those." I said, "What? What are you talking about?  What's those?"  He said, "Baby checkers. . .I love baby checkers!"  Isn't that funny?  I need to remember to tell my doc that his new title is now "Baby Checker".  

Wanted to post some pics of us at the LSU vs. North Texas game but somehow they have disappeared into thin air.  And they were so cute.  Technology.

I will try to add some of Aidan and the boys (aka my sister's children: Brady and Seth) from Aidan's first bowling trip.  Nevermind- those are gone too- crap. . .

Ok- so out of desperation, I put my thinking cap on and recovered the pics!  Enjoy!  

Sorry the pics are at the beginning but I can't figure out how to move them.  Such a novice.


Sunday, August 31, 2008

Go away Goose-tav!

It's Sunday morning here.  The sun is shining brightly.  Feels strange considering there is a huge hurricane heading towards Louisiana.  On this day, I am thankful for living in North Louisiana.  Although we will get gobs of rain, we are not boarding up windows and bracing ourselves for the effects of the hurricane winds like my friends and family in S. LA are.  Since it's looking worse than they originally thought- several friends and family are headed here to wait it out.  Thank you Lord that we are able to shelter them from the storm.

Last night was our anniversary dinner.   At the end of dinner we weren't sure if we would go back.  I mean food was good but not anything amazing, atmosphere was amazing and it took a long time so it was good to sit and talk but I got sick as a dog and was up till 3 am on the throne.  So sorry Village Grille- you are on the black list.  Maybe when this baby gets here- we can go there for drinks???

Little Aidan spent the night with Gree.  She is probably thinking-"why does this kid wake up so early?" right about now.  But I bet they had a great time together.  They always do.

Well-if I can persuade my nausea to go away, I am going to go to the grocery store and stock up for our "hurricane refugees"  (hehe) and then go and get my little man.  I hope the grocery isn't pure pandemonium.  Katrina really has people super paranoid-rightly so but nonetheless . . .
  

Saturday, August 30, 2008

5 yrs. and counting . .

I was not able to write yesterday because Aidan and I didn't get home from work and "school" until 5:30pm and then it was snacks and quiet time (also known as mom taking a nap while Aidan watches tv, educational tv of course).  Then Ryan came home early (7pm) for the first time all week and we all headed to Cantina Laredo!  Yesterday was our 5 yr anniversary!  It seems like only "older people" could be married 5 years.  Surely not us!  Aren't we still 22?  Funny how the mind plays tricks on us.  Will I be 50 one day and still feel like I'm 22??

Anyway- yes, Ryan and I are actually going to do something to celebrate our anniversary.  Tonight we are going to eat at The Village.  Ryan's mom is going to watch Aidan.  He will be in Gree heaven.  I haven't been to this restaurant in a 4 years.  Looking forward to a date with the hubby.

2 notes about Aidan:
-He was actually a fairly well-behaved child with decent table manners at dinner last night!!  I don't know why but I'm hoping it wasn't a fluke!  We actually had a good family dinner in public!
-When we were in Gonzales for my HS reunion we were having a birthday lunch for Jacques and Jacques asked, "What does he want for his birthday?"  I said, "I don't know.  Aidan, What do you want for your birthday from Parrain?"  Aidan said plain as day, "I want a big oh elephant."  We all died laughing of course.  But yesterday as we pulled up to the house, I noticed yet another package on our doorstep.  I thought, "Geez- not another present.  When is Aidan's birthday gonna be over? He is getting so spoiled!  Well, you guessed it- in true Jacques style-it was a BIG OH ELEPHANT!  Aidan loved it and said, "It's just what I asked for!"  Parrain- you did not disappoint!  On another note- this incident makes me smile because it reminds me that Aidan will have some South Louisiana inherently.  Ever since I met Ryan he has made fun of me (basically all coon-asses) for the way we all say Big-O or Big OH- not sure how to really spell it.  I am so glad that Aidan will not be a cookie-cutter Shrevport-ian.  He will have little hints of his cajun heritage!!

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Work. Work. Work.

That's all we do around here it seems.  Today I worked at the hospital and had to bathe someone with a huge, swollen scrotum.  Yuck.  And I thought I was nauseas (sp??) before walking in there.  Then he decided to pull his own tooth.  WTF?  Why do I do this job?  I know why- it's because for every huge ball sac there is a precious 94 yr lady who is someone's mother that they are desperately holding onto; there is an amazing 52 y.o. man who is engaged and just retired only to find out that he has terminal cancer- only 3 months to live.  It's b/c I can bring a smile to their faces and some sense of comfort.  That's why I do this job.
Still- after bathing people all day, it makes it really hard to come home and want to bathe Aidan which is usually Ryan's job, but it's harvest and we won't see Ryan until we are in bed already.  So I will suck it up, cook dinner, play with Aidan, bathe Aidan and do the nighttime routine all by myself.  Why?  Because I am blessed to have a wonderful healthy child and one on the way.  Because I am so fortunate to have the ability to cook a nice healthy dinner for my family.  I am blessed to have the ability to work and a husband who wants to work so hard for his family.
On another note:  When I was bathing Aidan last night, I noticed that he had a bite mark on his left forearm.  He said Shaun bit him and then went into some long-winded explanation that I didn't understand.  When I asked his teacher this morning she said it was some squabble over the slide on the playground???  So I reminded Aidan to be a good sharer and a sweet boy and went on my way.  When I picked him up today, no bite marks.  But one of the teachers told me that Shaun was absent today.  She then proceeded to tell me that she thinks Shaun is autistic but that the mom is in denial.  I told her- well great.  Y'all aren't really qualified to provide for children with autism, are y'all?  She said no but there is no official diagnosis.  Well= anyway, I offered to do an inservice to help them with some strategies.  But bottom line- I don't want my baby getting bitten!
Ugggh- as I'm typing this, Aidan is bringing me a huge package of diapers, asking me to put one on him so he can poop.  Do you know how much poop I've already cleaned up today?  What's one more?  Seriously.

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Here goes nothing . . .

Well- I am finally doing it.  Jumping in feet first to this whole world of blogging.  I have to say I am a little intimidated but nonetheless feel as though "everyone is doing it."  So I must do it too.  Since I am now only working a few days a week, I feel as though I actually have time to do this.  So I will try my best to keep this updated so that you can laugh or cry with us as we navigate this interesting, challenging, life of parenthood and married life!

So funny story of the day (and yes it's only 9:02 am and we already have several funny stories- gotta love a 3 yr old).  This morning Aidan told me he wants a sister.  A few minutes later he said he wants a sister and a brother.  I told him that there is only one in mommy's belly and God decides whether it's a sister or a brother.  He said, "well, can I have a dog then?"  Thankfully I somehow convinced him it was better to just visit Grammy's one kitty, Callie.  So we evade the pet request yet again!  Whew!